Post-Update: Forum Issues Read more... ×
BPAL Madness!
Sign in to follow this  
Brisby

Looking for a Woody Chypre

Hello. I'm new to BPAL, and to indie houses in general. I'm having trouble navigating this vast library. I tried an imp of Dee given to me by my SO, and absolutely fell in love. I'll be ordering a 5ml of Dee and some other imps to try out. During the day, I favor a woody chypre. Terre d'Hermes has been my go-to for years. This year I've been wearing Nishane's Hacivat and have been really enjoying the contrast of juicy grapefruit with dank moss and patchouli. I'm looking for something that has a woody backbone with a bit of resin, earthy patchouli or moss, and a gentle musk. I like vetiver and I'm partial to citrus. I'm a man btw. Any recommendations are welcome. Thanks in advance!

Edited by Brisby
clarification

Welcome to BPAL! Dee is such a lovely starting place (potentially of interest, it also comes in a beard oil, which is actually the main way I use Dee). Our preference notes don't fully overlap, but I've browsed through the GC for some things that seem like they might be up your alley.

- Vicomte de Valmont [Ars Amatoria] (ambergris, white musk, white sandalwood, Spanish Moss, orange blossom, three mints, jasmine, rose geranium and a spike of rosemary)

- Thanatopsis [Ars Moriendi] (pine, juniper and musk)

- Black Forest [Bewitching Brews] (Thick, viscous pine with ambergris, black musk, juniper and cypress)

- Highwayman [Bewitching Brews] (Vetiver with gardenia, blood red rose, night-blooming jasmine, a dash of cinnamon and a faint hint of leather)

- Incantation [Bewitching Brews] (vetiver, dark woods, crumbling and burnt black sandalwood and a drop of lemon rind)